HANDS ON
Home Inspection Training
Call Today
1-888-884-0440

Skip Navigation LinksHome : Home Inspection Classes : Requirements by State :

Home Inspection Requirements for Oregon

Home Inspection RegulatedYes
License TypeHome Inspector
License Renewal CycleEvery Two Years
Is Distance Education AllowedNo
Is Field Training And Experience RequiredNo
Experience RequiredSee Notes
Is CE RequiredYes
CE Hours Required30 Continuing Education Units
Is CE Distance Education AllowedYes
Is Pre-Licensing RequiredYes
Pre-licensing Hours Required20 Hours
Regulating BodyOregon Construction Contractors Board
Rules And Regulations812-008-0070 and 812-008-0040
ExamYes-Approved by Agency


*Options for completing 20 educational points for pre-licensing requirements: a) Accredited US college course-class must be a minimum of 3-credit or 3 CEU completed in home inspection (10 points earned-10 points maximum using this option) b) Approved Provider Course-(1 point for each 3 hour course-10 points maximum using this option) c) Ride Along-applicant will accompany an oregon certified home inspector during an inspection(1 point for each-10 points max) d)Full time work for monetary compensation as a home inspector(4 points for each 12 months-16 points max) e) Recommendation from an oregon certified home inspector (1/2 point for each-4 points max) F) building codes certification issued by a gov agency(1 point each-5 points max)

Oregon Home Inspection Training

Oregon Certification (ORS 701.350, 355) enacted in 1997. The Oregon Home Inspection Certification Law requires individuals who perform home inspections of two or more components to be certified by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). An individual must meet minimum training and/or experience requirements to take a comprehensive test, pass the test and complete continuing education courses to renew certification. The Oregon Standards of Practice, Standards of Behavior and Definitions are adopted from the ASHI Standards with Oregon amendments; Oregon acknowledges the assistance of ASHI in developing its standards and definitions. Each certified home inspector must be an owner or employee of a business licensed with the CCB. Businesses that perform home inspections must be licensed with the CCB in categories that require either a $10,000 or $15,000 bond and either a $300,000 or $500,000 liability insurance policy. Amendment to current law (ORS 710.35, Chapter 812). The amendment to current law provides an exemption for a home inspector acting within the scope of his/her certification or licensure, from licensure as a real estate appraiser.
For more information, contact the Construction Contractors Board at:

Phone: (503) 378-4621
Fax: (503) 373-2007
700 Summer Street NE, Suite 300
P.O. Box 14140
Salem, OR 97309-5052
Website: http://www.ccb.state.or.us

The ASHI School is a division of ASHI Education, Inc.
The ASHI School and Learn By Doing are service marked names. All rights are reserved. The ASHI School Copyright © 2009-2014