HANDS ON
Home Inspection Training
Call Today
1-888-884-0440

Skip Navigation LinksHome : Home Inspection Classes : Requirements by State :

Home Inspection Requirements for Alaska

Home Inspection RegulatedYes
License TypeHome Inspector
License Renewal CycleEvery Two Years
Is Distance Education AllowedNo
Is Field Training And Experience RequiredNo
Experience RequiredN/A
Is CE RequiredYes
CE Hours Required8 hours ( 4 hours for first time renewals) 0 for those who held registration for less than one year.
Is CE Distance Education AllowedNo
Is Pre-Licensing RequiredNo
Pre-licensing Hours RequiredN/A
Regulating BodyDepartment of Commerce and Economic Development
Rules And RegulationsAS 08.18 and 12 AAC-22
ExamNational Home Inspector Examination


With the regulated profession of Home Inspection, there are three different areas: a. New Home Registration b. Existing home registration c. Joint registration (includes both).  Existing home applicants must pass the exam offered by the American Society of Home Inspectors or the National Association of Home Inspectors.  New Home and Joint applicants must pass the exam offered by the International Code Council ( Residential Building, Residential Electrical, Residential Mechanical, and Residential Plumbing).


Alaska Home Inspection Training

Alaska Licensure (Chapter 134 SLA enacted in 2003). In Alaska, home inspectors and associate home inspectors will be issued a certificate of registration by the Department of Community and Economic Development. To be a registered home inspector, an individual must: 1) pass the National Home Inspector Examination, 2) meet the educational and experience requirements as determined by the Department, 3) submit a complete application for registration within one year of passing the exam, 4) not have been convicted of specific crimes in the past seven years of the date of the application, 5) not have had the authority to perform home inspections revoked in the state or another jurisdiction, 6) not be the subject of an unresolved criminal complaint or unresolved disciplinary action in the state and 7) pay the appropriate fees. For the renewal of certificates, the Department will require at least eight hours of continuing competency activity in each licensing period. The Department will set the registration fees for home inspectors and associate home inspectors and determine the disciplinary actions and penalties for violating the terms of the certificate of registration. The law also sets home inspection requirements for residential loans purchased or approved by the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation. The law requires that a written report fulfilling certain requirements be submitted to the person requesting the inspection upon completion of an inspection that will remain valid for 180 days after the inspection and allows for civil action to be taken against home inspectors for one year after performing the inspection. The law requires the home inspector to carry insurance and a bond of $5,000. The law went into effect in 2003 and all home inspectors are required to have a license by July 1, 2004.

For more information contact The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development at –

Licensing Examiner: Jan Mays
Phone: (907) 465-5470
Fax: (907) 465-2974
Email: janalete.mays@alaska.gov
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Or
Alaska Housing Finance Corporation
P.O. Box 101020
Anchorage, AK 99510-1020
1-800-478-AHFC

The ASHI School is a division of ASHI Education, Inc.
The ASHI School and Learn By Doing are service marked names. All rights are reserved. The ASHI School Copyright © 2009-2014